Advantages of Applying ED?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
balzern

Advantages of Applying ED?

Postby balzern » Tue May 25, 2010 2:36 pm

Hey!!

I am thinking about applying to Pitt Law ED and was wondering if there are any advantages in applying ED...my lsat is a 157 and gpa 3.48..Pitt's lsat median is a 159 and their 25th percentile is a 157. Their gpa median is a 3.4...any suggestions would be helpful/ guidance regarding the likelihood of admittance to schools where one's lsat is at the 25 or between the 25-75th percentile and gpa is at the median. Thanks again!!

lawgunner75

Re: Advantages of Applying ED?

Postby lawgunner75 » Tue May 25, 2010 2:44 pm

I think it varies by school, but I applied to Minnesota ED, with GPA and LSAT numbers around their 30th percentile, and got in. Granted, I have several years of really good work experience and great LORs, but I do think the school considers the impact that ED has on their yield, as you are required to attend if they admit you. Good luck!

rx3r

Postby rx3r » Tue May 25, 2010 2:47 pm

Here are the pros/cons in my experience:

Pros: literally a three-week cycle. No worrying and waiting for a response. Let me plan a lot of stuff ahead of time since I knew where I would be heading in December.

Cons: no way to bargain for scholarship money, since I had to withdraw all other applications and promise I would be going to the ED school. (Luckily it's my dream school so I don't feel too bad about it and probably wouldn't have gotten scholly $ anyway.)

balzern

Postby balzern » Tue May 25, 2010 2:51 pm

I am currently a Junior at a nationally ranked liberal arts college and I have pretty good softs as well. Actually I haven't taken the LSAT yet, that was my most recent practice score. My range is 157-163 with an avg. of 159...I was just curious about my chances given my range of scores...haha it is coming down to the June test date and I guess a million things are running through my head lately.