Is it a mistake to plan for a transfer post 1L?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Tweaker4

Is it a mistake to plan for a transfer post 1L?

Postby Tweaker4 » Sun May 23, 2010 8:18 pm

I have a shot at getting into a few schools in the T75-100 range. I will be moving to the Denver area after school but I've been turned down by the University of Denver (and had no shot at UC Boulder). I'm a returning student with a few years of solid professional experience under my belt, a low UGPA (2.5) and a decent LSAT (163) that I think I could improve (I was practicing in the low 170's). I believe my UGPA was the obvious stumbling block for admission to University of Denver. Would I be better served by spending a year at a school comparable to Denver (looking to be in the top 15% of my class) and trying to transfer in, or should I take a year to work and try to better my LSAT to the point that they're compelled to make me an offer?

Also, if there are any people working or going to school in the Denver area, any guess as to whether the market is uncommonly accepting of outside JD's due to the geographic isolation and relative lack of local schools? My big fear is that I take the leap to attend a midwestern school and end up with a degree that will get me nowhere in the market that I have to move to.

Thanks in advance for your help!

primusux

Re: Is it a mistake to plan for a transfer post 1L?

Postby primusux » Sun May 23, 2010 9:09 pm

Retake LSAT. If you're PT in 170's under strict conditions, no reason to accept a 163.

megaTTTron

Postby megaTTTron » Sun May 23, 2010 9:18 pm

primusux wrote:Retake LSAT. If you're PT in 170's under strict conditions, no reason to accept a 163.

+1. Annnd in before someone tells you to NEVER GO TO A SCHOOL WITH THE INTENT TO TRANSFER!!!!

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Sun May 23, 2010 9:19 pm

megaTTTron wrote:NEVER GO TO A SCHOOL WITH THE INTENT TO TRANSFER!!!!

Thirteen

Postby Thirteen » Sun May 23, 2010 9:20 pm