Is 2 LOR's from employers and 1 LOR from Prof bad?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
TOMaHULK

Is 2 LOR's from employers and 1 LOR from Prof bad?

Postby TOMaHULK » Thu May 13, 2010 10:59 am

Here's my situation:

I graduated 4 years ago. I've been working full time since and I have 2 awesome LORs from my employers (both LORs are from very high ranking people in my business. One has an MBA and the other a PHD-the reason I mention that is just info purposes).

I have an awesome LOR from one of my old professors (I took 6 courses with this professor and received all A's. Also, they are the head of their department at my college).

I've had problems tracking down other professors that I had (either due to teaching changes, moving away, or perhaps bad email addresses listed for these professors on the school's website.)

Since I've been working for 4 years, is 2 from employers and 1 from professor good?

My thoughts: I need more from professors.

Thanks in advance for any/all advice.

high0034

Re: Is 2 LOR's from employers and 1 LOR from Prof bad?

Postby high0034 » Thu May 13, 2010 11:07 am

Not knowing what schools you are looking at I can't say this would be a definitive answer, but I had the exact same LOR situation as you (6 years out of undergrad), 2.66./168 and was accepted to a T20 with 15% scholarship and a TT with 45% scholarship.... But I was waitlisted at a TTT and TTTT as well, so go figure.... If they are strong letters from your employers and you trust the prof I would think you should be ok.

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Thu May 13, 2010 11:08 am

No, you should be fine. Most schools, if you've been out of undergrad a reasonable amount of time (and 4 years certainly qualifies), want 1 from a professor and 1 from an employer.

Bert

Postby Bert » Thu May 13, 2010 11:09 am