Study Abroad Grades?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
rmansoor

Study Abroad Grades?

Postby rmansoor » Thu May 06, 2010 1:48 am

I just read this topic: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=98025

And am a little confused. I will be studying abroad this summer, taking 2 courses and my uni will not process the grades but will instead send the transcript of the school I studied abroad at to whichever law school I plan to apply to.

So, does LSAC NOT count the grades from these two courses?

The courses are from the host uni, my uni just has an 'exchange' agreement with them or w/e.

lebob

Re: Study Abroad Grades?

Postby lebob » Thu May 06, 2010 1:53 am

they should count

the lsac will automatically factor in those grades into the overall equation, even though they are separate from your regular university transcript

CoaltoNewCastle

Postby CoaltoNewCastle » Fri May 07, 2010 2:35 am

lebob wrote:they should count

the lsac will automatically factor in those grades into the overall equation, even though they are separate from your regular university transcript

I don't think they will count since they're study abroad grades and it's not a satellite school for his university and his university isn't counting them toward his GPA. Study abroad grades are treated differently from grades earned in the US.

MartianManhunter

Postby MartianManhunter » Fri May 07, 2010 2:58 am

I took 3 courses abroad over the summer through a program unrelated to my college. LSAC didnt want my study abroad grades. The only school in the t14 that asked was Stanford.

rmansoor

Postby rmansoor » Fri May 07, 2010 3:20 pm

MartianManhunter wrote:I took 3 courses abroad over the summer through a program unrelated to my college. LSAC didnt want my study abroad grades. The only school in the t14 that asked was Stanford.

Thanks yo!

And BTW to CoaltoNewCastle, I'm a girl =)

acdisagod

Postby acdisagod » Fri May 07, 2010 3:24 pm