"I'm bad at standardized tests."

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mb88

"I'm bad at standardized tests."

Postby mb88 » Sun May 02, 2010 4:20 pm

Stop fooling yourselves and study harder, or admit to yourself that you're not the genius your mother says you are.

That is all.

legalease9

Re: "I'm bad at standardized tests."

Postby legalease9 » Sun May 02, 2010 4:27 pm

A'nold

Postby A'nold » Sun May 02, 2010 4:31 pm

Actually, I agree w/ the sentiment here. I've known many people that can "get good grades" by just putting in like 10x the amount of work as others but can't take a test for the life of them. There is a point where it just means you aren't very smart, but a hard worker. This is like Hufflepuff vs. Ravenclaw. :wink: Sure, the Hufflepuffs are lovable, jolly souls, but they are just not the brightest bulbs in the bunch.

Now, when learning disabilities come into play, that is a different matter. I just bet that adcoms see so many "I am not good at standardized test" addendums that they want to /selves.

Unemployed

Postby Unemployed » Sun May 02, 2010 4:35 pm

legalease9 wrote:Image

150 on the quality of flame. OP - just admit that you are not the flame master you thought you were.

prezidentv8

Postby prezidentv8 » Sun May 02, 2010 4:37 pm

--ImageRemoved--
Last edited by prezidentv8 on Sun May 02, 2010 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KibblesAndVick

Postby KibblesAndVick » Sun May 02, 2010 4:38 pm

mb88 wrote:Stop fooling yourselves and study harder, or admit to yourself that you're not the genius your mother says you are.

That is all.

Scoring well on a standardized test doesn't mean shit. It doesn't validate your intelligence. HTH

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Sun May 02, 2010 4:49 pm

KibblesAndVick wrote:
mb88 wrote:Stop fooling yourselves and study harder, or admit to yourself that you're not the genius your mother says you are.

That is all.