Does study abroad look on a law school application?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cutecarmel

Does study abroad look on a law school application?

Postby cutecarmel » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:48 pm

I read some other posts, which said that study abroad would not look good on an application because it was just an excuse for upper middle class kids to visit Europe.
However, I am studying for a month and Spain this summer, and then later I am studying for a semester in Latin America. Will this make me stand out on an application if I am trying to gain fluency in Spanish? And how would I state this in my application? Would I add the other universities when I list my own?

Just in case you needed to know, I have a 4.0 at a slightly above average university-Loyola (which may go down, but not below a 3.9) and I got a 150something when I took a practice LSAT for the first time (without studying)

Dustin.

Re: Does study abroad look on a law school application?

Postby Dustin. » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:50 pm

It will have little to no effect on applications.

The most important thing you can do is to get a great LSAT score.

KG_CalGuy

Postby KG_CalGuy » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:51 pm

As with all things on your application, it depends on how you sell it. I studied abroad in Rome but I went to a program for its academics and took standard coursework in international affairs, public international law, etc. at an accredited institution. You're summer program won't be of any value unless you indicate somehow in your application that your long-term interests are related to that proficiency in Spanish. Likewise, the Latin America program will only be useful depending on the coursework and how it fits into your narrative.
Last edited by KG_CalGuy on Wed May 05, 2010 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

GordonBombay

Postby GordonBombay » Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:01 am

My last summer in college I had an internship that led to my job.