Could I be considered URM??? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Xptboy

New

Could I be considered URM???

Post by Xptboy » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:40 pm

My dad is Belgian, my mom is S.Korean.
When I check the boxes I say that I am ''multiracial'', if they don't have it, I say I am ''white''
I am an international student studying UG in college

Does any of this have any impact when applying to law schools???

romothesavior

Diamond

Re: Could I be considered URM???

Post by romothesavior » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:41 pm

Xptboy wrote:My dad is Belgian, my mom is S.Korean.
When I check the boxes I say that I am ''multiracial'', if they don't have it, I say I am ''white''
I am an international student studying UG in college

Does any of this have any impact when applying to law schools???
1. Learn to use the search function: http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 14&t=35568
2. No. If anything, you are an overrepresented minority. Asian people do not get a URM bump, and some would argue they actually are hurt by affirmative action.

Xptboy

New

Post by Xptboy » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:43 pm

cool thx

You Gotta Have Faith

Bronze

Post by You Gotta Have Faith » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:45 pm

The only 3 categories that benefit from URM status are (1) Blacks/African-Americans, (2) Hispanics (some more than others... Cubans get the least benefit), and (3) Native-Americans (you need a tribal identification).

South Koreans certainly don't get any benefit from URM status. You can mostly lump almost all Asians into the "White" category when it comes to URM purposes for admissions. Ditto to Belgians. Sorry... URM status is created to benefit the three categories aforementioned.

The moment any/all of those groups become roughly representative of the population, they will no longer be considered URM (Asians were in this category a few decades ago). But until that time...

Unemployed

Silver

Post by Unemployed » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:47 pm