Admitted. Shall I go?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
biglll

Admitted. Shall I go?

Postby biglll » Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:42 pm

I really need your advice, TLS!

I am a foreign student, 24, and I went to a foreign undergrad (Russia). I have been admitted to a couple of T20 law schools and awarded some tiny schollies.

I don’t want to become a US lawyer, nor do I want to stay in the US upon graduation. What I’d love to do is to join a government practice in a firm like McKinsey/BCG/Bain in my country, and at some point shift to the national gov-t (I know there’re good ties). I didn’t follow a traditional MBA route because, first, I don’t have sufficient work experience and job prospects are bad to start gaining it, second, my aspiration is public service, not business.

What scares me in law school:
1. 180 K

10. My English is, well, not perfect, which may further complicate my life
11. 1L classes, which have no value if you don’t want to stay in the US

I know that general convention here is that you don’t want go to law school if don’t want to become a lawyer. Yet there are small niches. Holding an advanced US degree is a must to join a US consulting firm in my country, and they claim they admit lawyers.

So, do you think going to law school to return to my country is a feasible idea? Does going to law school to end up in a consulting firm make sense? If no, what will you advise instead?
Last edited by biglll on Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.

presh

Re: Admitted. Shall I go?

Postby presh » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:02 pm

Last edited by presh on Sun Dec 27, 2015 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

biglll

Postby biglll » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:15 pm

presh wrote:Question: if you only received small scholarships, will you be able to borrow enough to even attend? US federal loans are unavailable to foreign students.

Thanks for your advice!