Does an MBA Deflect Attention from A Lousy UGPA from 1991? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bocajoes

New

Does an MBA Deflect Attention from A Lousy UGPA from 1991?

Post by bocajoes » Sun Apr 25, 2010 7:48 am

My undergraduate grades aren't something that I am very proud to disclose, and I am pretty sure that every law school admissions representative in the country would laugh when they see my transcript. However, I graduated in 1991 at a time when my priorities were...let's just say they were "different." In 2004 I was admitted to a AACSB accredited business school; I earned my MBA in 2006 with a 3.9 (B in an Economics course, A's otherwise.)

I know that I must absolutely ace the LSAT. What I am not sure of is how much my 3.9 GPA from a AASCB accredited business school will outweigh a lousy GPA from a liberal arts college, given the fact that so much time has passed between the two.

What are my chances?

Gold

Re: Does an MBA Deflect Attention from A Lousy UGPA from 1991?

Post by 270910 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:00 am

No.

digitalcntrl

Bronze

Post by digitalcntrl » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:53 am

bocajoes wrote:My undergraduate grades aren't something that I am very proud to disclose, and I am pretty sure that every law school admissions representative in the country would laugh when they see my transcript. However, I graduated in 1991 at a time when my priorities were...let's just say they were "different." In 2004 I was admitted to a AACSB accredited business school; I earned my MBA in 2006 with a 3.9 (B in an Economics course, A's otherwise.)

I know that I must absolutely ace the LSAT. What I am not sure of is how much my 3.9 GPA from a AASCB accredited business school will outweigh a lousy GPA from a liberal arts college, given the fact that so much time has passed between the two.

What are my chances?