Am I smart enough for Law School?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Canterticle

Am I smart enough for Law School?

Postby Canterticle » Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:35 pm

Hello all. I am a Junior undergraduate, applying for law schools in the fall pending some difficult choices. I did well on the LSAT, getting a 175. I also have a strong GPA: 3.8 (edit: the 8 ) turned into a smiley!).

Despite these positive factors, I am worried that I am not intelligent enough for Law School. Looking at class breakdowns, 30-40% of HYS and a sizable portion of CCN are from Ivy League schools or top liberal arts colleges. I attend a large state school and am double majoring in two liberal arts (English and economics).

As part of a research job I have read a wide variety of assignments and essays from students from Ivy League schools, and I can honestly say they are at a much higher level than my work, or the work of my peers. Perhaps this is due to the teachers, perhaps the competition to excel, or perhaps the students are simply more intelligent. Whatever the reason, I am worried that, if accepted to a top law school, I will inevitably fall below the median GPA due to this disparity.

Although I have done well in my courses, so have many of my friends and peers. Even when taking demanding courses, the class curve often ensures that I get a solid grade on exams, even if I don't know the material that well.

I don't read voraciously in my spare time. I don't discuss Foucauldian theory with my roommates. I certainly don't have any remarkable mathematics or writing abilities. I'm just a good student who does well on tests like the LSAT.

Do others have this experience of attending a top law school from a mediocre University? How difficult is the transition? Are you performing above or below your expectations?