Advice for Letters of Recommendation

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
englishfire3

Advice for Letters of Recommendation

Postby englishfire3 » Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:55 pm

Hello all! I'm in my last semester of my senior year and have been thinking about going to law school. As such, I've been researching many schools. However, I started thinking about the process for applying and remembered the letters of recommendation. I've obviously missed the deadlines for fall 2010, so I'm looking towards fall 2011. My question is, should I ask my professors to write recommendations for me now or wait until it's more relevant? Only thing is, I don't want my professors to forget about me and not remember why they liked me or if I did good in their class, etc.. But I also don't know if LSAC would "hold" those letters until the next application phase? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated! I am very unsure of this and am not sure what I should do. Thoughts, advice, anything? Thank you! :)

voice of reason

Re: Advice for Letters of Recommendation

Postby voice of reason » Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:15 am

LSAC will hold the letters.

englishfire3

Postby englishfire3 » Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:59 pm

How long will LSAC hold them for?

superserial

Postby superserial » Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:05 pm

I think 5 years, but I also could be making that up.

BenJ

Postby BenJ » Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:12 am

Much longer than you need them held for, certainly.

wjun15

Postby wjun15 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:56 am

okay so this might be a dumb question:

I just want to make sure: do I HAVE to use the LSDAS site for letters of recommendation? Or do people get the letters from their teachers and send it themselves?

BenJ

Postby BenJ » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:47 am

wjun15 wrote:okay so this might be a dumb question:

I just want to make sure: do I HAVE to use the LSDAS site for letters of recommendation? Or do people get the letters from their teachers and send it themselves?