teach abroad?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kevod10386

teach abroad?

Postby kevod10386 » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:25 pm

So I recently put down a deposit at a school thats relatively expensive and i had no scholarshi and planned on taking out loans to pay for it...its a school that has a very good repuation in the city and a decent reputation throughout the state. Its also where my mom, a practicing attorney went to school, so its where I grew up and where I have a lot of connections. The other day my friend who teaches abroad facebooked me and let me know that there were openings and I could probably have one. I don't like the thought of going into a lot of debt, and I feel like I could do better on the LSAT if I studied more (kind of half-assed it before). So what are the positives/negatives of taking two years and teaching abroad then reapplying to law school? My GPA is 3.5 and my LSAT was a 160.

MoS

Re: teach abroad?

Postby MoS » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:28 pm

Where would you be teaching?

kevod10386

Postby kevod10386 » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:29 pm

yap its in micronesia; i know some people will probably say that yap will suck but I think it'd be cool plus I could use it as a jump off point to see some places I might not get to otherwise

MoS

Postby MoS » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:45 pm

I taught in Thailand for a year, not two. I don't know if I would do it two years. But I really enjoyed it. Here is my take

Pros:
It gives you time to mature and reflect. Half assing it on the second most important test of a lawyers career isn't really that mature. It may be a result of not knowing what you wanted to do, which time abroad will help you out with that decision. It may be that you didn't have the discipline to sit and study. Either way I think living remotely from family and longtime friends helps with developing discipline.