Questionable URM status...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BarbellDreams

Questionable URM status...

Postby BarbellDreams » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:59 am

I have a friend (and yes, this really is a friend, as I am a white non-URM student) that has filed as a URM. She is Pakistani which certainly does NOT meet the URM status. I told her about this and she said that she thinks she is a URM and is putting it down and its not like they will find out anyway.

My question is:

A.) How in the world DO law schools find out if you are or are not a URM?
B.) Will anyone ever find out if you fudge your application as a URM, if so, how?
C.) What are the repercussions for this?

I told her if it was that easy then EVERYONE would be putting down URM status, but she said she feels like she is a URM and worse case scenario she will just say she thought she was and thats that.

umichgrad

Re: Questionable URM status...

Postby umichgrad » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:02 am

BarbellDreams wrote:I have a friend (and yes, this really is a friend, as I am a white non-URM student) that has filed as a URM. She is Pakistani which certainly does NOT meet the URM status. I told her about this and she said that she thinks she is a URM and is putting it down and its not like they will find out anyway.

My question is:

B.) Will anyone ever find out if you fudge your application as a URM, if so, how?

I told her if it was that easy then EVERYONE would be putting down URM status, but she said she feels like she is a URM and worse case scenario she will just say she thought she was and thats that.

I could be wrong, but I'm fairly certain you don't "put down URM" on your application; rather, you actually state your ethnicity/race. If she writes Pakistani, it's up to the school to decide what to do with that (and Pakistani is decidedly not URM).

Charles Barkley

Postby Charles Barkley » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:03 am

umichgrad wrote: