Taking a year off? What to do?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Dr. Strangelove

Taking a year off? What to do?

Postby Dr. Strangelove » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:58 pm

I'm a junior in undergrad and will be applying to law school next year. (Already registered for the June LSAT). I'm also taking the GMAT this summer to apply for Masters in Accounting programs. My GPA is kind of low right now and I'd be thrilled if it went up to 3.0 by the end of junior year.. (it's currently a 2.8.)
This probably sounds presumptuous and arrogant but I think I can get a perfect LSAT and a perfect GMAT. It'll just take practice and a little luck on the exam itself. (PTs have given me much optimism)

The more I think about law school, the more I want to do it. I'm a math major and I don't think my GPA really is reflective of how I'll do in law school. I do well in my more writing-intensive/humanitiesque classes and am really beginning to regret my choice of major. Not surprisingly, I've been rejected from research programs/internships and stuff like that..

Here are four possible plans I have.
1.) Go to law school right after college.. much of this is based on whether I get into a TLS or not.
Pros: On my way to becoming a lawyer, I know this is what I ultimately want to do with my life.

Cons: I might get into a better law school if I take time off- just because my GPA will likely be higher at that point.

2.) Go to a Masters of Accounting program and take the CPA exam and work for a public accounting firm for a year or two. (Accounting GPA is 4.0.)
Pros: Ending up with a fairly secure job. Big 4 firms care more about performance in accounting than "what masters program you went to?". People need accountants.

Cons: Wouldn't be able to apply to law school till two or three years after graduation.. unless I want the Masters degree to be nothing and to be in more debt. Is accounting right for me?

3.) Work as a real estate agent.