Advice needed/appreciated. Should I keep trying?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Talking Ape

Advice needed/appreciated. Should I keep trying?

Postby Talking Ape » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:09 pm

So I've taken the LSAT twice, the first time I was averaging around 164 on practice scores. I took the test in September and stupidly assumed that one section was experimental and didn't focus on it very much. I missed -11 on that section, where normally I would never miss that many on one section. I ended up getting a 159.

I studied hard again and got to the point where for at least 10-12 practice tests I didn't score anywhere under 170, including 2 180's. I retook that official test I got a 159 on, and got a 176, without ever having looked back on the correct answers or which questions I missed. I went into my second test (December) assuming i'd get at least a high 160, since I wasn't scoring anywhere under 170. I was wrong. I got a low 160's score.

I applied to schools anyway, which now were all reaches (roughly 16 schools.) I've done the research and know the likelihood of finding employment after graduating from lower ranked schools (ite), so I didn't apply to any school lower than 26th in rank. So far i've gotten all rejections, one waitlist that will be unlikely to turn into an acceptance, and four verdicts still out. I'm pretty skeptical on getting accepted at those schools since all the other schools that have gotten to me have been flat out rejections, including lower-ranked schools than the four still remaining.