How much do LORs matter?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
emoney8907

How much do LORs matter?

Postby emoney8907 » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:31 pm

So I'm not very good at sucking up to professors and although I've always vowed I would, it's already becoming too late, as this semester is coming to a close and I will begin applying in the summer.
So the question: how much do LORs really matter?
It's not like professors hate me so I'll get negative recommendations. But I haven't been anything special enough for them to make me sound like a exceptional applicant. My LORs will probably be mediocre at best.
Will mediocre LORs keep me from getting into a school where most people with similar numbers can get into? Or are LORs more like can help but won't make or break an app kind of thing?
Thanks.

kalvano

Re: How much do LORs matter?

Postby kalvano » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:33 pm

No. You'll be fine even if they mail it in.

smov_operator

Postby smov_operator » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:40 pm

You'll probably get 1,000 different opinions on this one. I think they made the world of difference for my application.

zozin

Postby zozin » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:53 pm

emoney8907 wrote:So I'm not very good at sucking up to professors and although I've always vowed I would, it's already becoming too late, as this semester is coming to a close and I will begin applying in the summer.
So the question: how much do LORs really matter?
It's not like professors hate me so I'll get negative recommendations. But I haven't been anything special enough for them to make me sound like a exceptional applicant. My LORs will probably be mediocre at best.
Will mediocre LORs keep me from getting into a school where most people with similar numbers can get into? Or are LORs more like can help but won't make or break an app kind of thing?
Thanks.