Were you Happy with your choice to take a gap year(s)? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Were you happy with your decision to take a gap year?

Yes
81%
No
5%
Didn't take a gap year and happy
11%
Didn't take a gap year and not happy
3%

Total votes: 203

eye

Bronze

Were you Happy with your choice to take a gap year(s)?

Post by eye » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:01 pm

What did you do in your gap year(s) and why did you decide to take a gap year(s)?

dakatz

Gold

Re: Were you Happy with your choice to take a gap year(s)?

Post by dakatz » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:07 pm

eye wrote:What did you do in your gap year(s) and why did you decide to take a gap year(s)?
My gap year is going well. Went on two vacations, a cruise with my family, and a road trip with my friends, soon after graduation. Then started my LSAT prep course. So two months were blocked out for LSAT. After that, I started playing copious amounts of video games, watched a ton of movies, went out drinking with friends, etc. Also got a part time job to make some cash. Going on another trip this summer, this time with my girlfriend. So yeah, not a bad off year.

beesknees

Bronze

Post by beesknees » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:10 pm

I am SO glad I took the time off. I was able to travel, study for my LSAT and increase my score several points, and work and save up money. Also, it gave me a year to reflect on the decision to go to law school. I'll be going into school this fall refreshed and committed.

steppenwolf

New

Post by steppenwolf » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:12 pm

Yes, definitely.

But most people, no matter what they do, find justifications for their actions after the fact.

PlugInBaby

Bronze

Post by PlugInBaby » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:13 pm