LOR's from Law Profs

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
miobrien

LOR's from Law Profs

Postby miobrien » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:38 pm

I am currently a graduate student in philosophy working on an MA at Boston College. My academic interests are in political and legal philosophy. I plan on applying to law school next fall. Since I have exhausted most of the relevant electives in my university's philosophy department, I have arranged to take two philosophically-oriented law classes at Boston College Law School -- one is "Philosophy of Law: Future of International Law" and the other is "Foundations of Western Law." I have also arranged to do an Independent Study with a professor who teaches courses in the philosophy department and at the law school (she is technically in the law faculty). (It will be on American Pragmatism and Legal Pragmatism, FYI.)

First, if I do well in these courses (i.e., get A's) and, second, if I possibly get these professors to write recommendations (if I think my performance in the class merits a quality recommendation), how will this affect my chances of admission in general?

I already have three excellent recommendations from professors I've previously taken but figure these three professors might be more qualified to discuss my aptitude for studying law. Perhaps it would be better to go with the professors I've known for a longer time.

Thanks for your help.

2009 Prospective

Re: LOR's from Law Profs

Postby 2009 Prospective » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:45 pm

miobrien wrote: Perhaps it would be better to go with the professors I've known for a longer time.

This.

miobrien

Postby miobrien » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:49 pm

Thanks. BTW, awesome band in your avatar!

In general, how would an admissions committee consider the 3 law classes? Could A's in these classes have significant weight, or are LSAT/GPA still much more important?

2009 Prospective

Postby 2009 Prospective » Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:42 am