Journo to Pre-law-- can it be done?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cupcakess

Journo to Pre-law-- can it be done?

Postby cupcakess » Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:26 pm

Hi all, first time poster here!

I'm a sophomore currently majoring in Mass Communications at a state school, but I'd like to apply for LS in the Fall of 2011. I've been fairly successful in my current major (won national awards, interned at a major news network, won scholarships, etc.), but I'm afraid that most law schools will not look favorably on my undergraduate major and will auto-reject me. I only decided that I wanted to go to LS fairly recently, so I haven't yet had time to build up some good softs that will show them that I'm serious about the field, but I do plan on interning at a law firm this summer. What do the fine people of TLS think about this? Is my fear unfounded or will I have to bust twice as much ass to be equally competitive with someone who has wanted to go to LS since birth and planned accordingly?

And for those who want to know, I've scheduled my first LSAT for October and plan on spending the summer training myself for it using the Powerscore books and many, many practice tests. My GPA is currently a 3.5 (damn advanced Spanish ruined my 3.9), but I do expect it to go back up after this semester.

I plan on mainly applying to schools around the Va. and DC area since I'm a Va. resident and don't want to move too far from home ($$$, honey), but I'm open to suggestions of any other decent LSs that I have a chance of getting into (especially ones that will give me $$$ to help me avoid going into triple-digit debt). I know that it's impossible to chance me without an LSAT score, but if my SAT score is any indication of my test-taking ability, I anticipate getting a score in the mid 160s to low 170s after some moderate studying. If I went all out, I might be able to get a score in the mid 170s. Right now, W&M is definitely my first choice.

vanwinkle