What kind of applicant is sought?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mayra0509

What kind of applicant is sought?

Postby mayra0509 » Sat Mar 27, 2010 6:29 pm

I'm trying to figure out how to construct my writting piece. So I am applying to UCLA, USC, and possibly UC-Berkeley/Boalt, but I dont know what to write about. I'm not sure what qualities I have that would benefit the law school....help!

The topics I was considering are:
I've been working and going to school since I was 16.
I've worked full-time while going to Ugrad full-time and have achieved a GPA of 3.45 (thus far, should be going up after this semester)
I'm a first generation HS grad and college grad.
I have a committed work ethic and have never quit anything.

........and thats where I draw a blank. Yikes!

Oh and a short background on me:
I work as an assistant to a 2-man criminal defense law firm, however I want to study corporate, environmental, and immigration law. Possibly criminal, but I'm unsure about it. At my office we take cases from misdemeanors up to capital punishment cases. A big part of my work involves constructing documents (save for the legal arguments). I've only been working in the legal field for almost 3 years but have gone from receptionist to legal secretary that does parallegal work within that time. No, I'm not a parallegal...I think you need a certificate for that right??

I attend UNLV (not a high ranking school for ugrad) because I didnt think I could afford moving out of state or even out of my city, seeing as how I'm paying my way through college. I graduated HS with a 3.787 GPA (which doesnt matter to law school but shows I could have attended much better ugrad colleges, I was actually admitted to Cornell) and many of my HS classmates (that had same grades as me) are currently attending MIT, Harvard, UCLA, etc.

Knock

Re: What kind of applicant is sought?

Postby Knock » Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:54 pm

I'm interested in this as well.