Religion and admissions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tasteofred

Religion and admissions

Postby tasteofred » Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:02 am

Just out of curiosity, I don't want to debate ideologies here :) .... I'm a member of the ASA (Atheist student alliance) at my UG. Should I be hesitant to put this on applications? Should I even BE in commonly looked down upon organizations? (I'm also an officer in an animal rights organization)

I plan on mainly applying to schools in bigger, more liberal cities but I don't want to put any of this on my app just to get it thrown away because the adcomm thinks I'm some crazy, cage breaking, church burning radical.

dp73816

Re: Religion and admissions

Postby dp73816 » Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:26 am

If you are going to apply to the Notre Dame's and Boston College's of the world, I would definitely not put it. If you are going to apply to the more liberal schools (Berkeley and Northeastern come to mind) it wouldn't be a bad thing - it might actually help. My advice is that, for the average school, if you even have an ounce of trepidation over putting it in, don't. Hopefully you have other EC's that are a little more endearing. Not to say that it is a bad thing, but it is simply not as PC as many things that can be easily categorized as "good" or "harmful" to your chances.

tasteofred

Postby tasteofred » Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:37 am