International students? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
crimsonred

New

International students?

Post by crimsonred » Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:07 pm

Hi,

I am an international student working towards my masters degree at the Univ. of Colorado. So I took some courses from the law school here, and I was bowled over. I had some questions and found this amazing forum. Been reading for about 2 hours now. Anyway, here goes:

1. Is it easier to get into law school after a masters degree (with me taking up legit 6000 & 7000 level courses from the law school)?
2. I know that law schools are crazy expensive, and the thought of spending $50k+/year right now is just mind boggling. So, what about financial aid for international students?
3. I would like to concentrate on Intellectual Property and Copyright, so assuming I go to law school, graduate, do I need to be an American national to practice law in the US or will clearing the state's bar exam do it?
4. Is it almost guaranteed that you will end up in the state where you study? Because I want to end up somewhere on the east coast, but schools there are tough to get in and moreover very very expensive.

logicman86

New

Re: International students?

Post by logicman86 » Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:42 pm

crimsonred wrote:Hi,

I am an international student working towards my masters degree at the Univ. of Colorado. So I took some courses from the law school here, and I was bowled over. I had some questions and found this amazing forum. Been reading for about 2 hours now. Anyway, here goes:

1. Is it easier to get into law school after a masters degree (with me taking up legit 6000 & 7000 level courses from the law school)?
2. I know that law schools are crazy expensive, and the thought of spending $50k+/year right now is just mind boggling. So, what about financial aid for international students?