Resume + Personal history

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Fatcat

Resume + Personal history

Postby Fatcat » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:34 pm

I'm 25, I have a bachelors in Economics, Overall GPA 3.70, major GPA 3.90. I've always wanted to go to law school but I got a good job out of college at a bank and I thought school could wait. I've worked for about 2 years in finance and I'm interested in going to law school again - maybe JD/MBA. I am primarily interested in Corporate law and I want to go to Columbia. I have a few questions I hope you guys can help me with.

1. Will the ad coms view my decision to attend law school now unfavorably? Will they wonder why I didn't apply directly out of college?
2. Will my personal statement be seen in a negative light if I choose to address a dry topic such as corporate law as opposed to humanitarian / civil / constitutional issues? Will this depend on the school?
3. Do I need volunteer work and extracurricular activities on my resume? If so, does the work need to be law related?
4. Besides the LSAT, does my undergrad GPA fall into the Top 10 scale? I've taken lots of math and stats so my overall GPA isn't as high as the avg law applicant. Will the ad coms pay attention to this?
5. My view of corporate / transactional law is that it is highly procedural and litigation is rare. Is this true?
6. I am also planning on getting a Masters in Economics before applying to law school. Will the ad com receive this well? Do they favor applicants with graduate degrees?

Thank you in advance.

DoubleChecks

Re: Resume + Personal history

Postby DoubleChecks » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:42 pm