Resume Length

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Perjury

Resume Length

Postby Perjury » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:17 am

I know the ideal length of a resume is 1 page. How hurtful would it be to send a resume that is 1.5 pages long to law schools. Thanks.

bluepepsi

Re: Resume Length

Postby bluepepsi » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:29 am

I sent a two-page long resume to all my schools... and I'm an undergrad. I know a lot of people say that your resume should be one page, but I think law schools are more lenient. Berkeley, for example, says they want you to list even insignificant or minor jobs.

In my case, this is what convinced me that two pages would be okay: http://www.law.harvard.edu/prospective/ ... urces.html

I figured, if Harvard is willing to list a sample resume that happens to be two pages (the third example listed), then that probably means they will accept two-page resumes. With other schools, I asked admissions representatives at law school fairs and they indicated it was fine.

r6_philly

Postby r6_philly » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:30 am

I sent a 2 pager. There is no way to list all my relevant experiences on one page if I just used places and titles. I think if you are just out of undergrad them 1 page should be the guide. If you are like me then if things are relavent to your strength as a law student then include it.

Harvard has a bunch of sample resumes on their admissions site that are 2 pagers for people with WE. CV's are unlimited length so I don't think schools will be too picky on length unless you fill it with useless info.

r6_philly

Postby r6_philly » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:33 am

bluepepsi wrote:I sent a two-page long resume to all my schools... and I'm an undergrad. I know a lot of people say that your resume should be one page, but I think law schools are more lenient. Berkeley, for example, says they want you to list even insignificant or minor jobs.