How bad is this application error?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GlobeTrotter

How bad is this application error?

Postby GlobeTrotter » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:12 am

For High School degree earned, I wrote GED. I realize now that I have a High School Diploma and a GED is something that people who dropout of regular HS get. I thought it just stood for "General Education Diploma," and I thought that everyone who graduated from high school got one.

Is this enough to get me waitlisted/rejected at T6 schools? Should I just write a letter to correct the error?

Borhas

Re: How bad is this application error?

Postby Borhas » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:11 am

email them, and quit worrying

too old for this sh*

Postby too old for this sh* » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:00 am

There are two ways to look at it:
1) who cares about HS since you had to have one or the other to get into most colleges and you apparently have the undergraduate degree (or you would not be applying to law school)...as such, why call attention to the mundane that they really are not apt to be looking at on the application. Side note...arguably, someone who got the GED and then got the rest of the educational life on track could potentially be a BETTER candidate, but the debate on that subject strays from that which you seek.

2) although trivial in the grand scheme, it is suggestive of someone who wants to be a lawyer that makes a submission without having verified all of the items on the application.

I'm guessing that calling attention to the error carries more risk than waiting to see if they ask about it...

TTH

Postby TTH » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:06 am

Borhas wrote:email them, and quit worrying

Credited.

GED + Bachelor's probably looks better, and you might feel silly calling attention to an error, but it's not worth having a lie on your app.

GlobeTrotter

Postby GlobeTrotter » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:09 am