TOEFL Score, foreigh applicant Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cassieyuc

New

TOEFL Score, foreigh applicant

Post by cassieyuc » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:55 am

BC is asking for Toefl.
I don't see why they asking for it, I graduated from a IVY school, and I took TOEFL before, it just expired.

My question is should I submit my application despite that they asking for it. Or I should not apply at all.

Thanks

andreea7

Bronze

Re: TOEFL Score, foreigh applicant

Post by andreea7 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:04 pm

I have the same background except I was lucky enough that the schools I was interested in don't require a TOEFL. My advice, from dealing with this when I went to grad school before, submit the applications with TOEFL pending. I think you should take it -- there are lots of applicants out there and they don't truly have a reason to accept what they consider an incomplete application. Trying to skip a requirement might make you seem as if you don't really care whether you get in. I went to an American university in Europe before coming to grad school here but had to take the TOEFL anyway. In my opinion you should contact the admissions office and express your strong interest and tell them you hope the fact that you don't have your TOEFL yet will not impact your application. Maybe in the interim they will accept the old TOEFL score?

I don't really understand why any law school would require TOEFL - there is no way anyone without a good command of English could muster a decent score on the LSAT.

twopoodles

Bronze

Re: TOEFL Score, foreign applicant

Post by twopoodles » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:51 am

No offense, but the OP doesn't seem to have a great command of English. I think if you submit an application without one, they are just going to ask for one.

JustDude

Bronze

Post by JustDude » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:49 am

Last edited by JustDude on Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

jeeptiger09

Bronze