GMAT questions... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Panther7

Bronze

GMAT questions...

Post by Panther7 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:42 am

I've been accepted by a few schools, but at the last moment, JD/MBA has crossed my mind. How long would it take me to arrange a GMAT test? Is it something you can more or less test cold? Any quick advice?

I understand this is a vague question, but I know little about the test itself and the Bschool app process (I know plenty about an MBA itself, my roommate was working on one during my last year of school).

los blancos

Platinum

Re: GMAT questions...

Post by los blancos » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:45 am

Ok, here's the deal. I took the LSAT last June. I walked out of the test pissed off and wanted to apply to HBS's 2+2 program (deadline July 1). I managed to pull it off. I think I took the test 6/27 or something like that.

If you did well on the LSAT, the GMAT should be a piece of cake. I studied for 4 days and got over a 700. Just focus on quant and the weird sentence correction part of verbal.

MBA.com has two adaptive tests that are basically the same as the real thing. Make those two your last practice tests.

beatthegmat.com is a good forum

Panther7

Bronze

Post by Panther7 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:50 am

how long after you take the test before you get a score you can use to apply with?

hsprophet

Bronze

Post by hsprophet » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:16 am

You take the GMAT on a computer and get the score instantly when you finish. The official score is mailed to you later along with your essay scores (most schools probably don't care about the essay scores, and they are not factored into the main score).

Instead of going in cold, at least get a study guide and study for a week or two. In my opinion the GMAT isn't nearly as hard to "master" as the LSAT.

Aeroplane

Bronze

Post by Aeroplane » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:36 am