Borderline - will 1 Year at the local T3 help or hurt?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
AngelAuthor

Borderline - will 1 Year at the local T3 help or hurt?

Postby AngelAuthor » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:52 pm

I live in Arizona, am graduating from ASU, and have applied to ASU law school. A few weeks ago (literally at night on a Sunday - the deadline for early admissions responses) I got an e-mail telling me that they're holding my application over for review with the regular applications. On the one hand they tell me to be proud I wasn't outright denied as more than 1,000 other early applicants were, on the other, I'm now on pins and needles for weeks.

I'm an older student (38) with a wife and kids and even though I applied to other schools out of state, here is where we really want to stay. There's a tier 3 private school here in Phoenix (Phoenix College of Law), that is dying to have me, but I dunno about that. A friend of mine suggested that I should apply, and if ASU turns me down, go there for my L1 then try to transfer into ASU for the rest of my schooling.

What do the more knowledgeable heads here think about that?

1. Does going to a T3 for a year help or hurt my chances of getting into ASU (or none of the above)?
2. Does going to a T3 for a year have any kind of impact on my future job offers (i.e. will employers need to know, or care that I spent a year at the Phoenix College of Law?)

I've already registered to retake the June LSAT to try to get a better score for next year if ASU should turn me down.

One final question: my friend also suggested that I contact the Admissions office at ASU and make an appointment to speak with someone there about this. I don't know the ramifications of trying to get personal with the people in Admissions while they're deciding my case. Good or Bad? Go for it or Stay away?

Thanks for the advice! :mrgreen:

Mr. Matlock

Re: Borderline - will 1 Year at the local T3 help or hurt?