LSAT AND GMAT?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Underoath

LSAT AND GMAT?

Postby Underoath » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:37 am

Some guy just told me AFTER I told him I'm studying for the LSAT that he is also studying for the LSAT and that he just took the GMAT.

He said he wants to do a dual degree and either go to Harvard, Stanford, or UCLA.

Is he being honest? I thought for law school you only needed the LSAT.

Thanks

r6_philly

Re: LSAT AND GMAT?

Postby r6_philly » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:41 am

You need other tests for the dual degree. Second degree usually has its own admissions procedure which may require other grad admission tests.

Underoath

Postby Underoath » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:42 am

r6_philly wrote:You need other tests for the dual degree. Second degree usually has its own admissions procedure which may require other grad admission tests.

When he says dual degree what does he mean? Like the LLM or something?

It just seems like he is not being truthful that's all.

loveistheway

Postby loveistheway » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:44 am

JD/MBA

/thread

Underoath

Postby Underoath » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:47 am

loveistheway wrote:JD/MBA

/thread

WOW...he should of just said that then. Law schools offer an MBA though? Thats what Im confused on........How can one obtain a JD while going to school full tme and a MBA?

icydash

Postby icydash » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:50 am

A lot of law schools have joint JD/MBA (masters in business, hence the GMAT) degrees that you can do in 4 years instead of the typical five years if you do them separately (3 for the JD and the typical 2 years for the MBA).

However, to get into the joint JD/MBA program, you usually have to get through separate admissions processes for each degree. Hence the LSAT for the law school part, and the GMAT for the business school part.

It's common, and he's being entirely truthful. A lot of people do this.

icydash

Postby icydash » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:51 am

Underoath wrote: