Does my international grades hurt me--Foreign Trans Question Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
chrisbforever

New

Does my international grades hurt me--Foreign Trans Question

Post by chrisbforever » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:19 am

I lived on the island of Barbados in the Caribbean for my whole life and attended community college there. My major back then was Computer Science and being a fresh faced youth straight out of high school, I did not take it serious and my grades were really bad. I did about 44 credits of schooling and ended up with a low 2.x GPA.

I moved to the United States at the age of 21, worked for a year and transferred my credits to an American university. I did 3 years of University with a Political Science major and a History minor and did much better as it is something I genuinely enjoyed, my GPA upon graduating this past December is 3.4. I am a much more serious student now and dream about going to law school, however, I am afraid that my old grades from community college overseas is going to come back to haunt me. Can someone tell me how my community college grades are going to factor into my law school application. Do they make it into one lumped GPA or would they consider the overseas GPA and American GPA two separate entities.

Furthermore, won't the overseas credits be looked "down" upon in a sense because it is not an American school so the quality of the work accomplished overseas can't be judged fairly? I'm hoping that my grades overseas does not profoundly hurt me with being accepted into law school.

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

baboon309

Bronze

Re: Does my international grades hurt me--Foreign Trans Question

Post by baboon309 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:22 am