Graduated early

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sudoku

Graduated early

Postby sudoku » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:19 pm

Due to financial reasons, I graduated in three years. My GPA does not reflect my abilities because of my increased courseloads, imho, but how do addcoms feel about this? Do they care that an applicant graduated an entire year ahead of schedule? If so, how much weight would they place on this situation? I did not enter college with AP credits. I took all courses at my undergraduate institution, taking 20+ hours per semester.

Thanks!

manbearwig

Re: Graduated early

Postby manbearwig » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:24 pm

sudoku wrote:Due to financial reasons, I graduated in three years. My GPA does not reflect my abilities because of my increased courseloads, imho, but how do addcoms feel about this? Do they care that an applicant graduated an entire year ahead of schedule? If so, how much weight would they place on this situation? I did not enter college with AP credits. I took all courses at my undergraduate institution, taking 20+ hours per semester.

Thanks!

Because your GPA suffered, it may be a negative factor. As someone mentioned in a thread, being a year younger might be seen as a negative as well. Did you need to graduate early, like for financial reasons? If there was a valid reason (and not just because you wanted to) I'd address it in an addendum.

Tifoso

Postby Tifoso » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:32 pm