Forgot about being disciplined 15 years ago... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Rodchenko

New

Forgot about being disciplined 15 years ago...

Post by Rodchenko » Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:09 am

In December I was accepted to my top school and they even gave me some money. I was floored — I did not expect this happen (I was waitlisted last year) and a neurotic part of me still worries it's some kind of put on.

So I've paid my full deposit and now I'm going through the matriculation materials, which includes a Dean's Certification form due in August from my undergrad and graduate schools, which asks if the student had ever been subject to disciplinary sanctions, academic or otherwise. When I saw this, I nearly fell over because it jogged something in my memory that I'd completely overlooked:

When I was a freshman 15 years ago, I had a dumb party in my dorm room the last week of school — I was caught with open containers of alcohol and smoking cigarettes. I remember receiving a warning and being told to go to some kind of alcohol meeting, which I skipped because it was the end of the year and I was moving off campus anyway . . . and then I remember getting a University notice about not being able to live in the dorms anymore . . . or something like that. It was fifteen years ago and I can't remember the details, but I know I got some sort of official letter...

I disclosed everything else on my application (a ticket for graffiti and a ticket for alcohol that same year; I was 18, I was an idiot) — but unfortunately I ticked 'no' regarding university discipline stuff because at the time I wasn't even thinking about dorm issues. Now I'm having nightmares about showing up for law school in August and being told there's a problem. But I also worry that if I make a big deal out of it, it might cause undue attention and they'll retract my admission now that the applicant pool is tightening.