How detrimental is this likely to be for my applications?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Robert398

How detrimental is this likely to be for my applications?

Postby Robert398 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:28 am

I am essentially a first-gen college student from a family without a strong tradition of heading to college right out of high school. Growing up in this environment, after high school I did not go straight to a four year university; instead, I worked for several years (including some relatively interesting work experience involving a lot of community interaction), while taking a few courses at the local junior college. Eventually, I began to learn more about the world and the opportunities available and enrolled in university, where I spent the last three years completing my degree. I did do well, final GPA was 3.95 - 4.0, and I graduated MCL. The school I attended is a fairly good one (a 'good public').

Anyway, everything else, LORs, softs, etc. are reasonably solid, and I see the above as the main potential negative in my application - basically, I'm concerned about my transcripts, which show that I took a few classes per year during the period in which I was working before heading off to the uni (where I went full time, 12-18+ hours almost every semester).

I believe my personal statement helps to illustrate the above and helps tie things together in terms of why and how I took the particular path I did, but I am concerned about this nonetheless. Any thoughts on how detrimental this is likely to actually be?

prezidentv8

Re: How detrimental is this likely to be for my applications?

Postby prezidentv8 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:30 am