"easy" classes while abroad... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
toiletpaper55

New

"easy" classes while abroad...

Post by toiletpaper55 » Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:19 pm

I'm currently studying abroad in Hong Kong and I want to know if the classes that I'm taking now will weaken my application considering they're not related to my major. I'm an accounting and finance major but here in HK I'm taking only 12 credits (while trying to study for the LSATS but its honestly crazy hard when everyones out everynight...).

I'm only taking cultural classes such as: Chinese I, HK Gov't & Pol, US-China Relations and China and the World. Considering I usually take 18+ credits and work, will my 12 credit semester adversely affect my application.

I currently have a 3.97 but I plan on it dropping here (the curve is sick, they limit classes to 15% A's and kids are ridiculously competitive, some classes can have a 97% average so they force rank and grade accordingly). The grading system, among other reasons, is why I'm not taking any business classes...And even with "easy" classes, I don't expect a 4.0...

Any thoughts, experience(s) you can share?

MPMP

New

Re: "easy" classes while abroad...

Post by MPMP » Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:32 pm

You have a 3.97 ... I wouldn't worry that much about my GPA, personally. I think you'll be fine. Just get that LSAT over 170 and you will have a lot of great opportunities.

Osos

New

Post by Osos » Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:57 am

If the curve is so bad, have you considered trying to take some pass/no pass? It would be a shame to diminish that gpa so much.

jayn3

Silver

Post by jayn3 » Sun Feb 07, 2010 2:02 am

any reasonable school will understand that the experience of being abroad in and of itself is worth at least 4 credits. no, you do not have to worry. yes, everything will be ok. trust me, i'll be a lawyer someday.

kazu

Gold

Post by kazu » Sun Feb 07, 2010 2:09 am