UT vs. Cornell

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sudoku

UT vs. Cornell

Postby sudoku » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:43 pm

With intent to practice in Texas, would one be wiser to choose UT or Cornell? Similarly ranked, the former has all the more regional strength, and the latter, the Ivy name. No scholly for either, but I'm a Texas resident, so I'd have a leg up with in-state tuition. Does this outweigh the Cornell name, though? Thoughts??
Last edited by sudoku on Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DukeHopeful

Re: UT vs. Cornell

Postby DukeHopeful » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:44 pm

In Texas? Texas, easily. Plus, instate tuition is like a built-in scholarship.

DoubleChecks

Postby DoubleChecks » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:45 pm

want to practice in TX? 100% UT, i see no reason to pick a more expensive school in this scenario, granted the more expensive school is Cornell

and come on, 3 yrs in Austin > 3 yrs in Ithaca easy :P

DukeHopeful

Postby DukeHopeful » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:47 pm

I would think that in Texas, the UT name is more valuable than Cornell, at least in the legal realm. Who cares what everyone else thinks, they don't sign your paychecks. :wink:

Esc

Postby Esc » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:52 pm

Texas without question.

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:54 pm

I vote Texas also. Any slight advantage from attending a top-ranked Ivy is made up for by the fact that you get to spend 3 years in Austin instead of Ithaca.

catharsis

Postby catharsis » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:55 pm

i had the same concern and ^ Esc up there showed me the light. Texas (for work in Texas) > Cornell

helvidius2010

Postby helvidius2010 » Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:46 am

Employers in Texas will be suspicious of why you didn't go to UT. Most people down here consider UT to be the better school despite Cornell's slight ranking advantage. And Cornell's "Ivy name" is meaningless down here. It's not like you're comparing Texas to Harvard or Columbia.

vanwinkle