Testing thanks

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LLK2009

Testing thanks

Postby LLK2009 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:37 pm

testing thanks
Last edited by LLK2009 on Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

vanwinkle

Re: biglaw paralegal?

Postby vanwinkle » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:38 pm

That is known as "Work Experience" or WE and is a soft factor for admissions. Every time you see people talking about WE or softs in general, this applies in that way.

"Softs" are called softs because they are a lot less supportive of your application than "hard" numbers (your LSAT and GPA). So it can make a difference, but not nearly as much as your GPA and LSAT will.

Kohinoor

Postby Kohinoor » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:41 pm

LLK2009 wrote:Can this have a significant influence on my competitiveness for law school admissions? I was a biglaw paralegal for 2 years after undergrad at one of the top firms in the country - wondering how much I can play this up in my app.

Mention it, but understand that such qualifications are par for the course.

sirchristaylor

Postby sirchristaylor » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:41 pm

LLK2009 wrote:Can this have a significant influence on my competitiveness for law school admissions? I was a biglaw paralegal for 2 years after undergrad at one of the top firms in the country - wondering how much I can play this up in my app.