Eng Student applying for LawSchool

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawbull335

Eng Student applying for LawSchool

Postby lawbull335 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:01 am

I am an engineering student and I am planning to go to law school. I'm really interested in patent/technology law. How are my chances affected, in any sense, by being an engineer? My GPA (in the range of 3.0-3.5, midway) is quite low, however, to even get that is an achievement in itself. Will law schools bump up my GPA because my courseload was so rigorous? And if so, any idea of how much?

Secondly, my RC section is my weakest. In college, all i've been doing are math, science and engineering problems. My emphasis has not been reading, which I feel puts me at a disadvantage in a sense. Any chance law schools will take any of these into consideration when viewing my app? in a beneficial way? Lastly, I'm not finishing all 4 passages in 35 minutes, any suggestions to increase speed?

Thank you for your time.

Tangerine Gleam

Re: Eng Student applying for LawSchool

Postby Tangerine Gleam » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:26 am

While law school admissions folks will definitely recognize the fact that it's not a cakewalk to get a 3.5 in engineering, they probably won't give you too much leeway for it, unfortunately. They'll look at your major, just like they'll look at your undergraduate school...but at the end of the day, they put the majority of their opinion of your undergraduate performance into that simple GPA number, no matter where you went or what you studied.