Late Applications

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
vikspeed

Late Applications

Postby vikspeed » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:17 am

So I did not determine that law school was for me until early January, and I have been working on the LSAC uploads and personal statements/essays this entire month (of January). Since I am so late in the application process, I was looking for feedback from others regarding my admission possibilities at some of the top 30 schools--and particularly the t-14. I plan on applying to Vanderbilt, Tennessee, and UC Irvine for sure. I graduated with a 4.0 and as most outstanding student for theology department from Oral Roberts. I also scored a 163 while working full time. I am looking at public interest/service law and am especially interested in good clinical programs. I worked as a financial representative for a short period and am still licensed with FINRA. I decided to focus more on the service industry and less on sales. I had been thinking about getting an MBA beforehand. I know I will have good LOR's, but I am still waiting on the last required one to finally upload to LSAC (waiting on 2 in total; have 1). Should I go ahead and apply before the deadline of, say, UCLA and then attach the other doc's once they are uploaded (i.e. purchase the report, etc.)? Anyway, what I've been debating on is applying to say, UC Berkeley, Michigan, Penn, or Stanford. I really prefer a smaller law school (hence, no Georgetown or Virginia; though Michigan is a fairly good size). Other lower ranked schools I was looking at include: Alabama, Minnesota, Notre Dame, Boston, Arizona, and Wake Forest. (Note: I have been looking at LRAP's, as well.)

Finally, I also have specific interests in sports and the relationship between law and business (e.g. community development; I was actually accepted into Maryland's MRED program last year but decided to wait). Pertaining to sports, I would consider becoming an athletic director down the road.