Being a lawyer vs. being an accountant Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MaineCourse

New

Being a lawyer vs. being an accountant

Post by MaineCourse » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:26 pm

Which career pays more(I'd assume lawyer)-but by how much, and you have to go to school for longer. Basically, how would a career as an accountant compare to a career as a lawyer?

ixpresxi

New

Re: Being a lawyer vs. being an accountant

Post by ixpresxi » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:07 pm

i think it depends on what type of law you want to practice. salaries at big 4 firms dont even come close to starting salaries at big law firms, but cpa partners do very well and it does not require going to graduate school. im currently a practicing accountant making a little over 60K with no college debt and although i think its a good career path for those who stick it out, ultimately i would recommend doing what you think you are most interested in. personally i have grown very bored of accounting, cant see myself staying with the big firm, and am going back to school hoping to find something i am more passionate about.

Trifles

Bronze

Post by Trifles » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:15 pm

What a soul-crushing decision, either way. :lol:

DGLitcH

New

Post by DGLitcH » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:16 pm

I think you definitely get more mobility in the corporate world as a CPA but as a JD, you start off with higher salary.

Anonymous Loser

Silver

Post by Anonymous Loser » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:16 pm

This is a ridiculous question.

Being a lawyer with a prestigious Bay Area litigation boutique known for providing an excellent work-life balance would be better than working for H & R Block in Wichita Falls at $10.25 hourly during the tax season.