Stay another year, ~2.7 to ~2.9, or WE.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dajja15

Stay another year, ~2.7 to ~2.9, or WE.

Postby dajja15 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:37 am

I am an aerospace engineering/physics undergrad graduating in June. My school (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) offers a program where you can get your graduate degree at the same time as your undergrad. My original plan was to graduate, get an engineering job, then apply to law school. Would my chances of law school be better if I stayed and got a masters, if in the process raising my GPA to 2.9 from a 2.77 ? What if I could break the 3.0 barrier, would it be worth it then. I have sort of good excuses for my GPA (huge grade deflation in major (average gpa 2.4), worked 20-40 during undergrad bc im poor, hard major). Any thoughts on what would be more beneficial to get into Law School.

Thanks in advance,
Dan.

flyingpanda

Re: Stay another year, ~2.7 to ~2.9, or WE.

Postby flyingpanda » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:43 am

GPA boost would be more beneficial.

Postby 09042014 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:52 am

dajja15 wrote:I am an aerospace engineering/physics undergrad graduating in June. My school (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) offers a program where you can get your graduate degree at the same time as your undergrad. My original plan was to graduate, get an engineering job, then apply to law school. Would my chances of law school be better if I stayed and got a masters, if in the process raising my GPA to 2.9 from a 2.77 ? What if I could break the 3.0 barrier, would it be worth it then. I have sort of good excuses for my GPA (huge grade deflation in major (average gpa 2.4), worked 20-40 during undergrad bc im poor, hard major). Any thoughts on what would be more beneficial to get into Law School.

Thanks in advance,
Dan.

Are you assuming you are going to get straight A's? Because in 400 and 500 level Aero/physics that's not realistic.