UG Major - Law School - Is it the right choice?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
razaky20

UG Major - Law School - Is it the right choice?

Postby razaky20 » Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:52 pm

I spent my freshman year taking mostly core classes and liberal arts classes because I wasn't sure what to do.
I didn't want to major in anything like history, political science, philosophy, english, etc. because I wanted to major in something that would provide me with a set of skills useful and in demand in these economic times. If for some reason law school didnt work out, what could i do with a philosophy or english degree? Not much.

So now I'm in my 2nd year and have chosen Accounting as my major, because I eventually wanted to go into corporate or tax law. I have a 3.7 currently, trying to make that go up.

Will law schools frown upon this maybe seeing it as a vocational field or something? Its not as easy as english or poli sci, but students with those degrees are a dime a dozen. But Ive been hearing major doesnt matter much.

prezidentv8

Re: UG Major - Law School - Is it the right choice?

Postby prezidentv8 » Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:55 pm

razaky20 wrote:I spent my freshman year taking mostly core classes and liberal arts classes because I wasn't sure what to do.
I didn't want to major in anything like history, political science, philosophy, english, etc. because I wanted to major in something that would provide me with a set of skills useful and in demand in these economic times. If for some reason law school didnt work out, what could i do with a philosophy or english degree? Not much.

So now I'm in my 2nd year and have chosen Accounting as my major, because I eventually wanted to go into corporate or tax law. I have a 3.7 currently, trying to make that go up.