Please answer with thoughtfulness

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JohnBoy

Please answer with thoughtfulness

Postby JohnBoy » Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:53 pm

From my first class in undergrad, Constitutional Law, I knew I wanted to be a lawyer. My initial reaction was the desire to attend a top twenty institution as it created more opportunity. I wasn't exactly sure where or what kind of law I wanted to practice, so I decided it would be best to keep as many doors open as I could. Attending a top twenty institution, in my opinion, was the best way to keep futures doors available. I studied five months for the LSAT, averaging 170 through roughly fifteen practice tests (my general range was 168-173). Come December I scored a 166, with a disheartening four wrong on the Logic Games section (normally its -0). My initial reaction was to retake in June, continuing to study and work while taking a year off. However, recently have been second guessing a retake as I feel Florida, where I currently live, might be a good place to practice. If I decide to live in Florida, would it be best to attend one of the top schools in Florida (UF, UMiami, Stetson, FSU) and try to get scholarship money since my numbers are above the 75th percentiles. Or, take on the excessive debt from a top twenty school, retake the LSAT, wait a year and become an attorney in Manhattan or DC. I know the law school doesn't make the lawyer necessarily, but how many doors are closed by attending a state school over a top14? Is it worth working 80+ hours a week versus a shorter amount in a smaller city?

I know we all get sidetracked from goals. I just don't want to have a midlife crisis in 25 years thinking I made the wrong decision.

scionb4

Re: Please answer with thoughtfulness

Postby scionb4 » Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:55 pm

With thoughtfulness.

MF248

Postby MF248 » Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:00 pm