Background Sans LSAT

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
besixdouze

Background Sans LSAT

Postby besixdouze » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Hi, all.

I'm interested in applying to law school and right now I have three main interests: a program in international law (human rights), a joint JD/master of philosophy program, and a joint JD/PhD in human development program (the first two being ideal).

First, the basics: I'm a 23 year old Buddhist-Christian caucasian gay male from the midwest.

In undergraduate college (a small liberal arts school), I graduated cum laude (my GPA was either 3.6 or 3.7) with majors in English, writing, philosophy and religion and a minor in global studies. I belonged to the philosophy and religion club, ALLIES (a gay-straight alliance), and Think Green! (an eco group). I worked at the university's Writing Center for three years.

I'm currently on my way to obtaining my master of divinity at one of the U.S.'s top five divinity schools. I belong to our gay-straight alliance, economic concerns group, office of women's concerns, and political action group. For the past year I've worked at the university's Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Intersex Life as a spiritual and religious resource to students, faculty and staff. This semester I'm founding a faith discussion group for queer and questioning persons who are struggling to understand the intersections of spirituality and sexuality. Unfortunately, my GPA in my master's program is just a 3.3 right now (I am not satisfied at all with this but generally attribute it to being in a graduate program and at a harder school).

Without the LSAT, how are the stats looking? My top three choices for schools right now are George Washington, Georgetown, and University of Toronto. Any chances here? Any suggestions? Thanks for your help; will give more info once I get the LSAT taken care of.

mb88

Re: Background Sans LSAT

Postby mb88 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:29 pm