Help! UIllinois vs. BC?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
latinolaw

Help! UIllinois vs. BC?

Postby latinolaw » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:42 am

I am an Illinois resident, so that would be lower tuition. BUT, would the job prospects be better out of BC? I live in Chicago and seem to hear very little about U of I. Is it not very prestigious, despite being ranked 3 positions higher than BC?

Vincent Vega

Re: Help! UIllinois vs. BC?

Postby Vincent Vega » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:45 am

Absolutely, unequivocally, Illinois is the better choice for practicing law in Chicago. Hands down.

tram988

Postby tram988 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:53 am

Absolutely, unequivocally, BC is the better choice for practicing law in Boston. Hands down.

tram988

Postby tram988 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:55 am

On a side note, anything outside the T-14 I would consider a regional school. 3 ranking points, or even 10, is nothing. BC, BU, Fordham, GW, Illinois and any other school ranked from 20-30 are peer schools.

84Sunbird2000

Postby 84Sunbird2000 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:11 pm

latinolaw wrote:I am an Illinois resident, so that would be lower tuition. BUT, would the job prospects be better out of BC? I live in Chicago and seem to hear very little about U of I. Is it not very prestigious, despite being ranked 3 positions higher than BC?

Illinois is actually quite prestigious and does very well in Chicago, especially during up-economies. It's just that U. of Chicago and Northwestern are very prestigious nationally, and Michigan gets a lot of action in Chicago too. So you might not hear as much, but when it comes time to look for a job, Illinois on your JD will carry a good amount of weight in the Midwest.

Renzo

Postby Renzo » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:12 pm

Do you want to work in Chicago or in Boston? Then go there.

traehekat

Postby traehekat » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:14 pm