Addendum for jump from 155 to 167

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
DoktorZaius

Addendum for jump from 155 to 167

Postby DoktorZaius » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:02 pm

Long time listener first time caller.

Basically I took the 155 over the summer w/ 0 studying. Just to get a sense of where I was at (which obviously wasn't very good). Then, the 167, that was the good ole awesome curve in December. Now, in truth, I only lightly prepared (meaning very close to not at all) for this one as well (the idea of studying for a standardized test seems counter intuitive and slightly wrong to me), and the difference in my score is a bit hard to gauge. I'm intelligent enough (132 IQ Wechsler as a kid), 1410 SAT score (before writing section)....slightly tangential, but long story short I feel very confident that I could ace the crap (175+) out of the test if I studied for 2-6 months full time like some people on here seem to think is standard.

So I guess my question IS, if an addendum would be helpful, how (in broad strokes) should I write it? I don't want to seem like I didn't take the LSAT seriously (the last thing I want is to suggest to law schools that I have poor study habits). Obviously the point of an addendum is to construct a narrative to persuade them that the higher score is more representative of one's intellectual capacity. Any advice on how best to do so here?

Thanks.

wadeny

Re: Addendum for jump from 155 to 167

Postby wadeny » Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:14 pm

I think the higher score speaks for itsel - most schools take the higher score anyway. Adcoms can probably assume what's going on and don't need to read another addendum.

Marisa5252

Postby Marisa5252 » Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:49 pm

wadeny wrote:I think the higher score speaks for itsel - most schools take the higher score anyway. Adcoms can probably assume what's going on and don't need to read another addendum.