Is this a pipe dream?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MeaganVanZandt

Is this a pipe dream?

Postby MeaganVanZandt » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:02 pm

Good morning. I’m a recent graduate from the University of Houston Downtown (Fall 2009). I’m hoping to enroll at South Texas College of Law next spring (2011). I need some advice regarding my application. Can you help?

Briefly: I’m 31 years old and have worked full-time since I was 16, gradually working on my undergrad part-time. In October 2008 my company was downsized and I found myself without a job. January 2009 I enrolled full-time to finish my degree, which I did by crediting 49 hours in one year. I decided in September 2009 that I was definitely going to apply to Law School once I was finished with my undergraduate degree. I ended up taking the December LSAT with very little preparation, and it showed. I scored a 146 – well below my practice tests. I’ve decided to retake in June and my goal is to score 156 – 165. I feel with 6 months to prepare instead of 2, this test will be more indicative of my ability to prepare for the rigors of studying law. My GPA is nothing special (2.67), but again I don’t feel it’s truly reflective of my ability to do well at Law School. While working full-time and traveling, making As in all my classes was not only unlikely, it wasn’t a priority – getting credit was. Obviously by taking classes part-time, the opportunities to develop substantial relationships with professors who could/would eventually be able to supply a viable letter of recommendation were slim – which until September 2009 I didn’t know I’d need anyway. This past year I did find I had a greater interest in history than I realized, and did develop a relationship with a professor where he and I felt comfortable with him providing a letter. The advice I need is this: