Searching for Softs

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HeartBlade

Searching for Softs

Postby HeartBlade » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:25 pm

Hi.

im an undergrad junior who is looking at law schools. My first choice is to get into Yale, not only because its a top law school but for other reasons as well which I wont state here because I dont want this post to become my own personal statement (ha ha)

Anyway, one problem is I have a GPA of 3.6. Im definately going to try my best to raise it up but in my worst case, I feel that I may only be able to maintain my 3.6 instead of raising it to 3.8 which seems to be the median at Yale. I haven't taken a practice LSAT score but have old LSAT tests and the PS bibles which I plan to study to get a high LSAT score to offset my weak GPA.

When looking on the YLS admissions forums however, the accepted class seemed to consist of very unique people ranging from a flamingo dancer to poker player to youngest college graduate in German history. I know that softs play an important part of Law school admissions but many opportunities such as fellowships (Rhodes Scholar, Goldwater) are closed off for me since Im a social studies/economics double major international student from Asia (which means URM doesn't apply to me either).

I was wondering if anyone has heard of unique opportunities, fellowships, awards, or scholarships international students have gotten which had helped them in their quest for law school.

HeartBlade

Re: Searching for Softs

Postby HeartBlade » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:29 pm

My current softs are these:

Worked part-time on a variety of oncampus jobs to support personal income to purchase books, member of the honor board, member of Model UN, member of Debate club, worked as an intern/job shadow for a law firm, worked with Christian fellowship in rebuilding effort in Katrina (dont know if this really applies).

By senior year, ill probably become co-chair on the honor board.

Kiersten1985