Does a poor record at a community college ruin my chances? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ccmonson

New

Does a poor record at a community college ruin my chances?

Post by ccmonson » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:03 am

I'm a sophomore currently, and not sure exactly how the admissions process works, entirely. I currently have a 3.85 GPA at the university I attend, which I intend to pull up to to a 3.91. In high school I took college courses from a local community college, and didn't do quite so well. It was only 14 credits, but the GPA comes out to a 2.79. My current university does not include these transfer credits in my GPA, but since I have to send the community college transcript to whatever law schools I apply to, will this past record ruin my chances of attending a top 20 law school? Any information would be great.

Nom Sawyer

Silver

Re: Does a poor record at a community college ruin my chances?

Post by Nom Sawyer » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:08 am

ccmonson wrote:I'm a sophomore currently, and not sure exactly how the admissions process works, entirely. I currently have a 3.85 GPA at the university I attend, which I intend to pull up to to a 3.91. In high school I took college courses from a local community college, and didn't do quite so well. It was only 14 credits, but the GPA comes out to a 2.79. My current university does not include these transfer credits in my GPA, but since I have to send the community college transcript to whatever law schools I apply to, will this past record ruin my chances of attending a top 20 law school? Any information would be great.
They'll average the 14 credits in with your 3.85 GPA, so it will drop your LSAC GPA. However, T20 colleges won't care that much as long as your overall application is strong, so if you have a competitive LSAT score you 'll do fine...

im_blue

Gold

Post by im_blue » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:26 am