3.45/177, any good for stanford? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
EdmundBurke23

Bronze

3.45/177, any good for stanford?

Post by EdmundBurke23 » Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:48 am

I haven't taken the LSAT yet, so I don't expect that people are going to have only nice things to say. But can you guys help me on this please? When I check lawschoolpredictor, it has me as "consider," but I can't that many people on LSN that were admitted with similar stats (excluding URMs).

I have average softs:

Two years work experience, non-technical work.
Lots of extra curriculars during undergrad
Non-URM

I know that Stanford would be a complete reach if anything else. But I'd really appreciate anyone's honest assessment of my chances at Stanford if I do in fact achieve 177 on LSAT. I started studying early December and am currently scoring 164+ now, and will be sitting for the exam on June.

of Benito Cereno

Silver

Re: 3.45/177, any good for stanford?

Post by of Benito Cereno » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:12 am

Stanford pretty much never ever ever ever ever takes a gpa that low. Stanford has a pretty low lsat range and its for a reason: over 170 they clearly don't really care very much about lsats and look at gpas. A 170/3.8 is thus waaaaaaaay better of than a 177/3.6 even.

PLATONiC

Bronze

Post by PLATONiC » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:23 am

of Benito Cereno wrote:Stanford pretty much never ever ever ever ever takes a gpa that low. Stanford has a pretty low lsat range and its for a reason: over 170 they clearly don't really care very much about lsats and look at gpas. A 170/3.8 is thus waaaaaaaay better of than a 177/3.6 even.

Not so fast - Stanford might be changing their index formula. This new approach might place more emphasis on LSAT scores, but who knows? Regardless, I think if you're not that desperate to attend Stanford, I suggest you ED one of CCN.

EdmundBurke23

Bronze

Post by EdmundBurke23 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:43 pm

Anyone?

BruceBarr

Bronze