Just trying to be realistic Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
esviel

New

Just trying to be realistic

Post by esviel » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:44 am

Hey guys,

So I'm an undergrad polisci major at University of Pennsylvania. About to start my second semester of my sophomore year and my GPA is currently 3.32. What do I have to do from now until I apply to get into a top law school (top10)?

My extra-curriculars have been my main focus for my first three semesters and my academics have suffered because of it, though I believe (as i'm told by many of my professors, friends, supervisors at work) that I have great leadership skills. However, as reality sets in I am starting to feel that all of that is irrelevant without the numbers to back it up.

Do I have a realistic chance of getting into top schools? What would I have to bring my GPA up to and is it even feasible to get all A's from now till I graduate? Doing so would only bring me to a 3.77.

I don't know much about the LSAT but I do know that I am a very poor test taker and only scored a 1310 on the SAT after an entire summer of intense preparation (though I did get a 31 on the ACT).

Can I realistically set my sights on big-name top schools or should I not even waste my time and do something else?

Thanks!

sckon

Silver

Re: Just trying to be realistic

Post by sckon » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:55 am

Worry about academics. You need a higher GPA. 3.6-3.7 plus a great LSat will get you into T14

calkel

New

Post by calkel » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:57 am

--ImageRemoved--

sckon

Silver

Post by sckon » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:59 am

That gave me a good laugh Calkel

nematoad

Bronze

Post by nematoad » Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:01 am

http://lawschoolnumbers.com/top10/jd